The Dead Man Talking

I have chosen to submit this poem as an entry for jingle’s Thursday Poet’s rally week 32…Hope u like it!

 

I’m standing by the graveyard,

It’s half past three,

There’s so many people passing by,

Not one spares a look at me,

I take a step forward, oh what I see!

Covered all over in mud and grime,

Hey! that guy looks just like me!

 

I was in a spot,

My heart had gone into a tailspin,

What I had before my eyes,

It was so hard believing,

Was I drunk?Now, I must be dreaming,

What’s this eerie, cold feeling,

I just can’t shake it..

 

Last night,in my car,

I was just doing my thing,

Driving down the highway,

My radio playing Jay Sean,

Just then, I felt the wind on my face,

Broken shards of glass all over the place.

 

I tried to hold on tight,

Amidst the deepening fright,

The devil in sight,

His smile so downright.

 

I don’t want to go,

It’s not my time,

I’ve got so much to do,

Like write a song that doesn’t just rhyme!

 

I’m standing by the graveyard,

No one’s looking at me,

I look at the clock tower,

It’s half past three….

Walk a little closer,

Hey! that guy looks just like me!

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 32 Participation Awards | Promising Poets' Parking Lot
  2. Jingle
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 22:45:44

    lovely word flow.
    Thanks for sharing.
    xx

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally Week 32 Participants… | Promising Poets' Parking Lot
  4. Luke Prater
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 01:19:20

    Enjoyed this one. Thanks for posting it it the PotLuck

    Regards

    Luke

    (mine are here-
    http://wp.me/pTeVg-cx
    http://wp.me/pTeVg-cP

    Reply

  5. The Reason You Come
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 02:58:51

    That’s a scary thing to realize! I hope he comes to grips with the fact of his death one day. 😉

    Reply

  6. buttercup600
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 07:03:11

    Wow, that was eerriee to read ….I tried to picture it!! Thanks so much for linking with Potluck, your support means a lot and can’t wait to see your talent shine next week!! Well penned my friend xx

    Reply

  7. Jamie Dedes
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 13:20:00

    Wow! That was a wonderful read. I enjoyed it even when I could see what was coming. Well wrought … Nice Rally poem.

    Jamie Dedes

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Wow, These Are Rare Talents In Poetry….Rally Week 32 Highlight | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

Leave a comment