Song of The Broken Heart……my entry for Thursday Poets Rally!

 

"I FEEL LIKE TRASH"

I feel so unwanted,

Reduced to my shadows, I am a no one,

What I used to be, What I am now,

Left to languish among the rots of my past,

Where every heartbeat spews blood,

Every breath makes me burn.

 

These words are all that are left now,

And those dreams I dreamed for me and you,

Biding their time till it’s all over,

And I am just a blob in your distant memories.

 

And it’s not just the tears and smiles,

That I wasted on you,

Living with the trammels of false hope,

That your love was true.

Now that my trust lies stabbed a million times,

Tell me, what am I supposed to do?

 

I am so clueless,

Still searching for those answers,

The reasons for your actions,

That shook me to the core,

Just a ‘sorry’ isn’t enough,

I think I deserve much more.

 

Down on my knees, trampled upon, trashed,

The feeling of being the insignificant one,

People jeered, while I had to burn,

Well, Guess what!

You’ve had yours; Now, its my turn,

I am not dead, I’ll rise again,

I am that DARK chapter in your life,

Forgive me for being a pain in your conscience,

Forgive me for being that ‘insignificant’ thorn’.

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally Week 30 Participants | Promising Poets' Parking Lot
  2. Jingle
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 18:20:40

    very lovely poem,
    direct and powerful words.
    beautifully done!

    Reply

  3. Jingle
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 18:21:31

    Thanks for the participation, have fun reading!
    the more you read, the more feedback you will get, but 18 is a requirement…

    love your sweet nature, poem on.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 30 (October 7-13) | Jingle
  5. sillyfrogsusan
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 19:16:10

    You got the right attitude my new friend!
    Still it must be so painful…well done and hugs!
    ~Susan

    Reply

    • Naba Kumar Barman
      Oct 12, 2010 @ 23:01:32

      Thanks a lot for adding me as your friend! It means a lot.
      Painful, it is…but I’ll get over it. It’s not that I am the only one who has had to deal with it!
      But at the same time, I am thinking….there must be something good for me in this too!

      Reply

  6. trisha
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 20:23:47

    bad things just happen. We should realize this golden truth. There is no reason for their happening- they just happen.

    Been there, seen that, its hell, and it will take time to heal. Please heal yourself and move forward. We are our own healers, none else will do this for us, actually none else can. they can help us but finally we have to do it.

    I will hope and pray that you soon leave past behind, extract the nectar from this poison and smile like a rose.

    Reply

    • Naba Kumar Barman
      Oct 12, 2010 @ 22:56:31

      Agreed trisha. Moreover, it’d be really dumb for me to throw everything away just because someone thought that I was not good enough! Actually, as I sit here in front of the screen, reading comments from all you people, it gives me a lot of strength and keeps me distracted enough not to think about those events.

      Reply

      • trisha
        Oct 13, 2010 @ 21:54:31

        now you are talking like me. πŸ™‚ I have decided a long ago that i will not hurt anyone (at first) and will not let anyone hurt me.

        Who is anyone (but God) to decide what we actually are?

        We should never let anyone take place of our real guide in life- our soul.

        I am happy that you know that you are precious to us.

        Best of luck again for your exams.

  7. Ms. Peaches
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 21:26:35

    1st thanks fir checking out my blog! 2nd u so weren’t serious when u said “see if I’m any good” this piece is great! I love ur raw emotions. Sorry she broke up with u an didn’t tell u why but it’s likely her loss!!!

    Reply

  8. Jingle
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 22:17:53

    I know how you feel,
    shake it off,
    nothing can stop you from being yourself and feel good about yourself…

    Reply

  9. wiserskydiver
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 00:39:44

    the way u going sad to angry to sad to romantic to sad and to angry and sad….

    the flow of the poem so much shows u loved her very much..but its gone πŸ˜›
    sorry i know how u must be feeling low and down but then enjoy this trip for few years down the lane u will be writing a funny prose on this episode πŸ˜€
    Cheers!!! and cheers to love !!!

    Reply

    • Naba Kumar Barman
      Oct 13, 2010 @ 01:44:12

      Its true, I loved her very much. But I have to accept the reality and move on. Thanks for the encouraging words. I really hope to write a funny one some time down the lane……and believe me, since you gave me this idea, u’ll be the first one to hear it!

      Reply

  10. Marlee-I Mystic
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 01:34:33

    Very expressive of feelings that I’m sure many have felt before. But like you said in the end “I am not dead I will rise again”

    Cheers!

    Reply

  11. Bodhirose
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 03:33:58

    Naba, thanks for the invitation to visit. And I’m so sorry you are going through the painful process of an ended relationship. Yes, most of us have been there and it hurts like hell–can’t avoid the pain but you can choose how to react to it.

    I’m glad that the comments here are helping you feel better. This was a very powerful expression of your feelings–it’s good to get your feelings out!

    Reply

  12. Lu Ann
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 07:01:49

    How love can make us suffer right?

    Anyway… seems like sadness brings out our most poetic side.
    Amzing way to express yourslef.

    Reply

  13. childofagodunseen
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 19:50:21

    Sorry about what happened.
    Brilliant poem though.
    Sometimes it takes the most painful things to get the most amazing and deepest poems.

    Reply

  14. Trackback: Your Poetry Rocks! (Highlight of Rally Week 30) | Promising Poets' Parking Lot
  15. trisha
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 14:24:42

    Shubho bijoyadashami (Happy Vijayadashami)! May the blessings of the Goddess shower down on you and your loved ones forever.

    Reply

  16. lily gogoi
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 16:39:20

    sorry bro,
    its a just prt of life somethin good is preserved 4 u

    Reply

  17. dipika boro
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 10:27:05

    just wanna say that you deserve much better than what you had.

    Reply

  18. trisha
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 22:44:18

    Happy deepawali! May light, happiness and wealth shower down on your world and stay.

    Reply

    • Naba Kumar Barman
      Nov 07, 2010 @ 02:53:36

      thanks a lot Trisha……and same to you! umm…sorry for replying so late…I have been busy with my exam preparation and keeping order amidst the present chaos in my life. But my heartiest wishes for you and your family on this occassion of deepawali…may the light of happiness always keep shining on you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

