I AM JUST A KID

I’m just a kid…

shin chan:my favourite cartoon character

With simple dreams,

I find miracles,

In ‘normal’ things.

Come, take my hand,

And lead me through,

There’s so much confusion,

I don’t know what to do.

I look at the stars,

And I try to see far,

Do we have a future,

That’s not wrought by war?

I never believed mom,

But now I see,she was right,

That we are a violent race,

And were born to fight.

I have a pain,

And it runs down deep,

There’s so much blood around,

With people being killed like sheep.

Dear Osama Uncle,

Let’s have a chat,

Why you took away my parents,

Please give them back.

There’s nothing to fight about,

Please give us a chance,

We wanna be happy too,

we too we wanna dance.

Please don’t scold me,

For dreaming so loud,

I know I wished too much,

In a world where wishes are not allowed.

I’m just a kid,

With simple dreams…..

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. trisha
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 20:25:49

    very wise words for a kid, i hope adults were half as wise as the kids. you are an outstanding poet and story writer.

    still waiting for the rest of the story.

    Reply

  2. mangoesntangoes
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 08:18:00

    I enjoyed reading this poem, so much truth in what you said. Thank you for sharing it. I read your bio and wanted to let you know that I’m from West Bengal. You know I haven’t seen the one horned rhino yet. But I will have to keep looking when I go back and visit my friends.

    Reply

    • Naba Kumar Barman
      Oct 13, 2010 @ 10:40:57

      Hey! Glad you liked it! And you are welcome to Assam anytime. Please do visit the Kaziranga National part and see for yourself those magnificent creatures. I haven’t seen a rhino for real, either. But maybe, you can send me the pics, right!

      Reply

  3. Jingle
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 01:11:59

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/thursday-poets-rally-week-32-november-4-10/

    week 31 perfect poet award reminder,
    let me know if you accept,
    thanks a ton.
    welcome to rally week 32.

    Reply

  4. Shikha Behl
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 22:04:13

    no comment

    Reply

Leave a Reply

